Bossip Video

After a week-long of film screenings, The Micheaux Film Festival ended with a bang and honored a legendary filmmaker, actor, director, comedian, and writer. Robert Townsend was honored during a primetime ceremony that he attended alongside his daughter Skye Townsend (HBO’s A Black Lady Sketch Show).

Micheaux Film Festival

Source: Courtesy of Micheaux Film Festival / Handout

The Micheaux Film festival that partnered with The Oprah Winfrey Network and Sony Pictures Entertainment for the first in-person festival also awarded trophies for categories including Outstanding Action, Oustanding Horror/Thriller, and Outstanding director.


The event was jam-packed with Hollywood’s most elite actors, entertainers, filmmakers, directors, and executive producers, the event attendees included; Actor Amin Joseph (FX’s Snowfall), Comedian Slink Johnson (Adult Swim’s Black Jesus), Actress Brely Evans (OWN’s Ambitions) and Actress Reagan Gomez-Preston (OWN’s Queen Sugar).

Prior to the awards ceremony, the Micheaux Film Festival hosted several workshops and conversations comprised of a multitude of decorated actors, such as; Jill Marie Jones (OWN’s Delilah, Girlfriends; Maahra Hill (OWN’s Delilah); Bridgid Coulter Cheadle (Westworld); Award-winning writer & director, Steve Pink (Hot Tub Time Machine); Award-winning and critically acclaimed filmmaker, Deborah Riley Draper (Olympic Pride, American Prejudice), Award-winning producer, Whitney Valcin and Casting Directors Christian Bustamante (One Night in Miami); Jamie Castro (Grey’s Anatomy) and Renita Gale (Honda, Toyota).

The festival also featured a series of digital panels, and elite masterclasses – providing attendees with the opportunity to gain access to new content and exclusive insight, while establishing tangible and equitable connections. Event sponsors included: Oprah Winfrey Network, SONY Pictures Entertainment, Panavision, and IMDbPro.


Full list of 2021 Micheaux Film Festival winners below: 


Outstanding Music Video 

Black Leather  


Outstanding Student Project  

Furthest From  


Outstanding Action/Suspense  

Rules to Rule 


Outstanding Horror/Thriller 

10 Years in 40 Seconds  


Outstanding Sci-Fi 

Navel Gazers 


Outstanding Short Documentary  

Free to Be  

Outstanding Feature Documentary 

Uprooted: The Journey of Jazz Dance  


Outstanding Special Programming  

Black Girl, Bleu  


Outstanding Editing 

I Love You, I’m Sorry 


Outstanding Performance Piece 

Hues & Hidden Kings  


Outstanding Music  

Harana (Serenade)  


Outstanding VFX 

Dark Lights  


Outstanding Cinematography  



Outstanding Podcast, Digital Talk, or Vlog 

All Things Undone – podcast 

Savage Chat Series – digital talk 

Externo – Vlog 

Outstanding Dramatic Short 



Outstanding Comedic Short 



Outstanding Animated Short 



Outstanding Dramatic Actress (short form)  

Frencheska Farr as “Maya” – Harana


Outstanding Comedic Actress (short form)  

Bria Henderson as “Mia” – Prepared  


Outstanding Dramatic Actor (short form)  

Telvin Griffin as “David Carter” – A Blue Shroud  


Outstanding Comedic Actor (short form)  

Sandro Iocolano as “Guido Gaguzzi” – How to Do Sh!t with Guido Gagootz 


Outstanding Actor (Feature) 

Kim Estes as “Detective Travis” – Loyalty 

Outstanding Actress (Feature) 

Denise Yolèn as “Monika” – Sundays in July  


Outstanding Dramatic Writing 

The Ice Cream Stop 


Outstanding Comedic Writing 

December 21st 


Outstanding Writing (Feature) 

Asking For It 


Outstanding Directing Comedic Short Form 

How to Do Sh!t with Guido Gagootz 


Outstanding Directing Dramatic Short Form 

The Fixer 

Outstanding Directing (Feature) 

Red Pill 


Outstanding Dramatic Digital Series 


Outstanding Comedic Digital Series 

The Gaze 


Outstanding Unscripted Digital Series 

Content is King 

Outstanding International Short 



Outstanding Panavision Short 



Outstanding Panavision Feature Film 

Sunday’s in July 


Oscar Micheaux Trailblazer of Excellence Award 

Robert Townsend  


Cesar Chavez Civic Impact Award 

Kevin Welbeck 


Michael Ajakwe Pioneer of Influence Award 

Gregori J. Martin 


For more information and updates, or to register for this event, please visit:



Bossip Comment Policy
Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.